Legal Notice

Important Notice

This notice governs the use of the LBC Capital Internet Web site. Please read it carefully before accessing the site.

Privacy Statement

The purpose of this Privacy Statement is to inform you about the types of Personal Information LBC Capital Inc. (as follows, “we” or “us”) collects, uses and discloses. It explains how we use and disclose that information, the choices you have regarding such use and disclosure, and how you may access and correct that information.

We are proud to demonstrate our commitment to your privacy, by complying with the applicable privacy laws and regulations in Canada, including the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act.

From time to time, we may make changes to this Privacy Statement. The Privacy Statement is current as of the “last revised” date that appears at the top of this page. We will treat Personal Information in a manner consistent with the Privacy Statement under which it was collected and with our Privacy Policy, unless we have your consent to treat it differently. This Privacy Statement applies to any Personal Information about you that we collect or receive from any source.

  • To which companies does this Privacy Statement apply?
    This Privacy Statement applies to the collections, uses and disclosures of Personal Information by LBC Capital Inc.
  • What is Personal Information?
    Personal Information is any information about you that is identifiable with you. This information may include, but is not limited to, your name, home mailing address, personal phone numbers, personal email address, identification numbers, credit card numbers, banking information, and creditor information.

    Personal Information does not include your business title, business address and business telephone number in your capacity as an employee of an organization, except in Alberta and Quebec, where your business contact information is Personal Information, but may be collected, used or disclosed without your consent to contact you in your capacity as an employee of an organization.
  • How do we collect your Personal Information?
    We will always collect your Personal Information by fair and lawful means (for example, when you complete an application for credit or a personal guarantee). We collect Personal Information both from you and from third party service providers, where we have obtained your consent to do so or as otherwise permitted or required by law.
  • How do we use your Personal Information?
    We identify the purposes for which we use your Personal Information at the time we collect such information from you and obtain your consent, in any case, prior to such use. One of the primary purposes for which we collect your Personal Information is to assess your credit worthiness in respect of your application for credit or your personal guarantee, and to administer our contract with you once such credit has been extended. We may also use your Personal Information as otherwise permitted or required by law.
  • To whom do we provide your Personal Information?
    We are not in the business of selling Personal Information about our customers. We consider such information to be a vital part of our relationship with our customers and we treat it with great care and respect.

    There are, however, certain circumstances under which we may share your Personal Information with certain third parties. We identify to whom, and for what purposes, we disclose your Personal Information, at the time we collect such information from you and obtain your consent to such disclosure. For example: Third Party Service Providers: we may disclose your information to third party service providers with whom we have a contractual agreement, which includes appropriate privacy standards, for the purpose of (i) assessing your credit worthiness; (ii) performing functions such as data processing, database services or information technology support; and (iii) providing insurance for our secured assets on our behalf. When we employ another company to perform a function or function(s) of this nature, we only provide them with the specific Personal Information it needs to complete the task, and it is prohibited from using that Personal Information for any other purpose;

    Made with your Consent: we may make such other disclosures of Personal Information to such persons for which you provide your consent; and Permitted or Required by Law: we may also make such other disclosures as are otherwise permitted or required by law.
  • When and how do we obtain your consent?
    We obtain your consent, where required, prior to collecting, and in any case, prior to using or disclosing your Personal Information for any purpose. You may provide your consent to us either orally or in writing. For example, when you submit an application for credit, you provide your consent to allow credit reporting agencies to disclose the information contained in your credit report to us so that we may identify you as a good credit risk.
  • How do we ensure the privacy of your Personal Information when dealing with third parties?
    We require all third parties that we engage to perform services on our behalf, and to which we provide your Personal Information, to provide us with a contractual commitment to observe the intent of this Privacy Statement and of our Privacy Policy.
  • How long will we use, disclose or retain your Personal Information?
    We may keep a record of your Personal Information, correspondence or comments, in a file specific to you. We will use, disclose or retain your Personal Information only for as long as is necessary to fulfill the purposes for which it was collected, or as required or otherwise permitted by law. We have established minimum and maximum retention periods and procedures for maintaining and destroying your Personal Information.
  • How can you review your Personal Information that we have collected, used or disclosed?
    Upon receiving your written request, we will generally make available to you (i) any specific Personal Information about you that we have collected, used or disclosed; and (ii) information about the ways in which we have used, and parties to whom we may have disclosed, your Personal Information. We will make such information available to you in a form that is generally understandable, including explaining any abbreviations or codes.
  • How do you know that the Personal Information we hold about you is accurate?
    In order to minimize the possibility that we may use inappropriate Personal Information to make a decision about you, we endeavour to keep your Personal Information as accurate, complete and up-to-date as is necessary in light of our purposes for collecting such information. We do not routinely update your Personal Information, unless such a process is necessary in order to fulfil the purposes that we have identified to you, as well as our legal obligations. We expect you, from time to time, to supply us with written updates to your Personal Information, when required.
  • What if the Personal Information we hold about you is inaccurate?
    You can, at any time, challenge the accuracy or completeness of the Personal Information we hold about you. If you successfully demonstrate to us that your Personal Information is inaccurate or incomplete, we will amend that Personal Information as required. Where appropriate, we will transmit the amended information to third parties having access to your Personal Information.
  • When will we respond to your written requests?
    We will endeavour to respond to any written request you deliver to us within the applicable time limit established by legislation in the province where you reside. In general, this means that we will endeavour to respond to your request within 30 days (45 days in Alberta). We reserve the right to unilaterally extend the time period for responding to a request when necessary, however, in accordance with and to the extent permitted by the applicable privacy law. If we cannot address your request within the original applicable time period, we will advise you in writing of this fact. You have the right to make a complaint to the appropriate Privacy Commissioner in respect of our failure to address your request within the applicable time limit.
  • Are there any costs to you for requesting access to or information about your Personal Information or about our Privacy Policy or Practices?
    We will not assess any costs to you for access to your Personal Information or to information about our Privacy Policy and Practices without first providing you with an estimate of the approximate costs, if any.
  • How do we know that it is really you requesting your Personal Information?
    We may request that you provide sufficient identification to permit access to the existence, use or disclosure of your Personal Information. Any such information shall be used only for this purpose. In accordance with our duty to safeguard your Personal Information, we reserve the right to deny your request if you are unwilling or unable to provide us with satisfactory evidence of your identity.
  • What safeguards have we implemented to protect your Personal Information?
    We have implemented physical, organizational, contractual and technological security measures to protect your Personal Information from loss or theft, unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification. The only employees, who are granted access to your Personal Information, are those with a business ‘need-to-know’ or whose duties reasonably require such information.
  • How can you contact us regarding access to your Personal Information or information about our Privacy Policy or Practices?
    All comments, questions, concerns or complaints regarding your Personal Information or our Privacy Policy and Practices, should be forwarded to our Privacy Officer as follows. In writing:

    Attn: Privacy Officer
    LBC Capital Inc.
    5035 South Service Road
    Burlington, Ontario
    L7R 4C8

    By email:
    Canadian.Privacy@LBCCapital.ca
    On request, our Privacy Officer will inform you of the relevant procedures for filing
    complaint or challenging our Privacy Policies and Practices.

Integrated Standard for Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Policy

lang: \|lg.l

Notes légales

Avis important

Le présent avis réglemente l'utilisation du site Internet de LBC Capital. Veuillez le lire attentivement avant d'y accéder.

Énoncé de confidentialité

Le présent énoncé de confidentialité précise la nature des renseignements personnels que Services LBC Capital Inc. (nous dans ce qui suit) est amenée à recueillir, utiliser et divulguer. Ce document explique comment nous utilisons et divulguons ces renseignements et vous informe des choix qui vous sont offerts relativement à cette utilisation et à cette divulgation, en plus d'indiquer comment procéder pour accéder à ces renseignements et les corriger au besoin.

En veillant à nous conformer aux lois et règlements relatifs à la protection de la vie privée applicables au Canada, et notamment à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, nous assurons la protection de vos renseignements personnels, ce dont nous sommes fiers d'avoir pris l'engagement.

Le présent énoncé de confidentialité peut être modifié à l'occasion. La version à jour de ce document est celle de la date indiquée en haut de cette page (après la mention dernière révision). Nous traiterons les renseignements personnels conformément aux dispositions de l'énoncé de confidentialité qui les gouverne et de notre politique de confidentialité, à moins d'avoir obtenu votre permission de procéder autrement. Le présent énoncé de confidentialité s'applique à tout renseignement que nous recueillons sur vous ou obtenons de toute autre source.

  • Quelle(s) société(s) s'engage(nt) à se conformer aux dispositions du présent énoncé de confidentialité ?
    Le présent énoncé de confidentialité porte sur les modalités de collecte, d’utilisation et de divulgation des renseignements personnels détenus par LBC Capital Inc.
  • Qu'entend-on par renseignement personnel ?
    On entend par renseignement personnel tout renseignement sur vous qui peut être associé à vous, ce qui peut notamment comprendre votre nom, l'adresse postale de votre domicile, vos numéros de téléphone personnels, votre adresse de courrier électronique personnelle, vos numéros d'identification, vos numéros de cartes de crédit, vos coordonnées bancaires et les renseignements sur vos relations de crédit.

    Ne sont pas considérés comme des renseignements personnels le titre, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone professionnels qui vous ont été attribués à titre d'employé d'une société, sauf au Québec et en Alberta. Au Québec et en Alberta, vos coordonnées professionnelles sont considérées comme des renseignements personnels. Cependant, dans ces deux provinces, les coordonnées professionnelles peuvent être recueillies, utilisées ou divulguées sans votre consentement dans le but de vous contacter à titre d'employé d'une société.
  • Comment recueillons-nous des renseignements personnels sur vous ?
    Lorsque nous recueillons des renseignements personnels sur vous, nous procédons toujours de façon honnête et licite (lorsque vous remplissez une demande de crédit ou une entente de garantie personnelle, par exemple). Nous recueillons des renseignements personnels sur vous auprès de vous, d'une part, et auprès de fournisseurs de services extérieurs, d'autre part, lorsque vous nous y avez autorisés et dans la mesure où la loi nous y autorise ou nous y contraint.
  • Comment utilisons-nous les renseignements personnels détenus sur vous ?
    Au moment de recueillir des renseignements personnels sur vous, nous vous informons des fins pour lesquelles ces renseignements sont recueillis et, dans tous les cas, nous nous assurons d'avoir obtenu votre consentement préalablement à une telle utilisation. Une des principales raisons pour nous de recueillir des renseignements personnels sur vous est le besoin de connaître vos antécédents de crédit aux fins d'évaluation d'une demande de crédit ou d'une entente de garantie personnelle et de suivi du contrat de crédit octroyé, le cas échéant. Nous pouvons aussi utiliser vos renseignements personnels à d'autres fins dans les conditions permises ou requises par la loi.
  • À qui pouvons-nous fournir vos renseignements personnels détenus sur vous ?
    Notre vocation n'est pas de vendre des renseignements personnels sur nos clients. Nous considérons en effet ces renseignements comme un aspect essentiel de nos relations avec nos clients et nous les traitons avec le plus grand soin et avec tout le respect voulu.

    Il peut toutefois se produire que dans des circonstances déterminées nous partagions avec des tiers certains renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous. Le cas échéant, nous précisons à qui, et à quelles fins, nous divulguons ces renseignements personnels au moment où nous les recueillons auprès de vous et obtenons votre consentement à leur divulgation. Voici des exemples de telles circonstances :
    Fournisseurs de services extérieurs : nous pouvons divulguer des renseignements sur vous à des fournisseurs de services extérieurs avec lesquels nous avons une entente contractuelle comportant des exigences appropriées de confidentialité, aux fins (i) d'évaluation de votre dossier de crédit; (ii) de traitement des données, de gestion de base de données et de soutien informatique et autres fins semblables; (iii) d'assurer pour nous nos actifs garantis. Ces fournisseurs de services peuvent être situés à l’extérieur du Canada.

    Lorsque nous faisons appel à une société extérieure pour effectuer une ou plusieurs tâches telles que celles décrites au paragraphe précédent, nous ne fournissons que les renseignements personnels spécifiques nécessaires pour accomplir ces tâches et interdisons l'utilisation de ces renseignements personnels à toute autre fin.

    Renseignements fournis avec votre consentement : nous pouvons divulguer de tels renseignements personnels à des personnes à qui vous nous avez autorisé de les communiquer. Divulgation de renseignements permise ou requise par la loi : nous pouvons également divulguer certains renseignements personnels parce que la loi nous y autorise ou nous y contraint.
  • Quand et comment obtenons-nous votre consentement ?
    Nous demandons votre consentement avant de recueillir des renseignements personnels sur vous lorsque nous y sommes tenus et, en tout état de cause, avant d'utiliser de tels renseignements pour quelque fin que ce soit. Vous pouvez nous donner votre consentement soit verbalement, soit par écrit. Par exemple, le fait de nous soumettre une demande de crédit implique que vous consentez à ce que des agences d'évaluation de crédit nous communiquent des renseignements contenus dans votre dossier de crédit afin de nous permettre de vérifier que vos antécédents de crédit sont favorables.
  • Comment veillons-nous à ce que la protection de vos renseignements personnels soit assurée lorsque nous traitons avec des tiers ?
    Nous exigeons de tout fournisseur de services extérieur que nous mandatons pour effectuer des tâches pour notre compte et auquel nous fournissons des renseignements personnels sur vous un engagement contractuel à se conformer aux dispositions du présent énoncé de confidentialité et de notre politique de confidentialité.
  • Pendant combien de temps pouvons-nous utiliser, divulguer ou conserver vos renseignements personnels ?
    Nous pouvons conserver dans un dossier qui vous est réservé des renseignements personnels sur vous, ainsi que des transcriptions de votre correspondance ou de vos commentaires. Nous n'utiliserons, ne divulguerons ou ne conserverons des renseignements personnels sur vous qu'aussi longtemps que nous en aurons besoin pour les fins que nous avons stipulées lorsque nous les avons recueillis ou pendant la durée requise ou permise par la loi. Nous avons déterminé des périodes minimales et maximales pour la conservation de vos renseignements personnels et avons mis en place des procédures de conservation et de destruction de ces renseignements.
  • Comment consulter les renseignements personnels sur vous que nous avons recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués ?
    Sur réception d'une demande écrite de votre part, nous mettons normalement à votre disposition (i) tout renseignement personnel sur vous que nous avons recueilli, utilisé ou divulgué et (ii) l'information sur l'utilisation que nous avons faite de ces renseignements et sur l'identité de ceux à qui ils ont été divulgués. Nous vous fournirons ces renseignements sous une forme intelligible selon les critères courants, avec notamment des explications sur d'éventuels codes ou abréviations.
  • Comment vérifier que les renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous sont exacts ?
    Afin de réduire au minimum les risques que des renseignements personnels inappropriés soient utilisés pour prendre une décision à votre égard, nous vous incitons à veiller à ce que les renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous soient aussi exacts, exhaustifs et à jour que nécessaire, compte tenu des fins pour lesquelles ces renseignements sont recueillis. Nous ne mettons pas à jour les renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous de façon systématique. Nous ne procéderons à une mise à jour de ces renseignements qu'aux fins stipulées initialement et dans le but de remplir nos obligations légales. Nous partons du principe qu'il vous incombe de nous fournir de temps à autre par écrit des renseignements personnels aux fins de mise à jour.
  • Et si les renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous sont inexacts ?
    Vous pouvez à tout moment porter à notre attention le fait que des renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous sont selon vous inexacts ou incomplets. Si vous pouvez prouver que lesdits renseignements sont inexacts ou incomplets, nous apporterons les corrections nécessaires. S’il y a lieu, nous transmettrons les renseignements modifiés aux tiers qui ont accès à vos renseignements personnels.
  • Quand pouvez-vous vous attendre à ce que nous répondions à une demande de votre part pour accéder aux renseignements que nous détenons sur vous ou pour les corriger ?
    Nous ferons notre possible pour répondre à toute demande écrite en ce sens reçue de vous dans les délais prescrits par la loi s'appliquant dans la province où vous résidez. Cela signifie que nous nous efforcerons normalement de répondre à votre demande dans les 30 jours (45 jours en Alberta). Nous nous réservons toutefois le droit de prolonger unilatéralement le délai pour répondre à une telle demande lorsque nécessaire dans les limites permises par la loi sur la confidentialité applicable. Si nous ne pouvons répondre à votre demande dans le délai applicable stipulé initialement, nous vous en aviserons par écrit. Vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée au cas où nous ne répondrions pas à votre demande dans le délai prescrit.
  • Y a-t-il des frais pour vous informer sur les renseignements personnels détenus sur vous ou sur notre politique ou nos pratiques en matière de confidentialité ?
    Nous ne vous demanderons pas d'acquitter de frais pour accéder à vos renseignements personnels ou vous informer sur notre politique et nos pratiques en matière de confidentialité sans vous avoir préalablement fourni une estimation approximative de ces frais, le cas échéant.
  • Comment pouvons-nous savoir si une demande relative aux renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous provient bien de vous ?
    Pour obtenir des renseignements sur l'existence, l'utilisation ou la divulgation des renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous, nous pourrions vous demander de fournir suffisamment de renseignements pour permettre d'établir votre identité. Tout renseignement ainsi obtenu ne pourra être utilisé qu'à cette fin précise.

    Sachant que nous assumons l'obligation de protéger les renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous, nous nous réservons le droit de refuser une telle demande si vous refusez ou n'êtes pas en mesure de nous fournir des renseignements susceptibles de nous permettre d'établir votre identité à notre satisfaction.
  • Quelles sont les mesures prises pour assurer la protection des renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous ?
    Pour empêcher l'accès non autorisé aux renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous et prévenir la perte, le vol, la divulgation, la copie, l'utilisation ou la modification de ces renseignements, nous avons mis en place des dispositifs de protection physiques, organisationnels, contractuels et technologiques. Les seuls employés autorisés à accéder aux renseignements personnels que nous détenons sur vous sont ceux pour qui cela est nécessaire dans le cadre de leurs tâches professionnelles ou qui ont des motifs raisonnables de demander de tels renseignements dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions.
  • À qui vous adresser lorsque vous nous contactez pour vous informer sur les renseignements personnels détenus sur vous ou sur notre politique ou nos pratiques en matière de confidentialité ?
    Tous commentaires, questions, réserves ou plaintes concernant les renseignements personnels détenus sur vous ou nos politiques et pratiques en matière de confidentialité doivent être adressés à notre responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels, dont les coordonnées suivent :

    Adresse postale :
    À l’attention du Chef de la protection de la vie privée
    LBC Capital Inc.
    5035 South Service Road
    Burlington (Ontario)
    L7R 4C8

    Adresse électronique :
    Canadian.Privacy@LBCCapital.ca
    Sur demande, notre chef de la protection de la vie privée vous informera de la marche à suivre pour déposer une plainte ou émettre des réserves quant à nos politiques et pratiques en matière de confidentialité.

Politique sur les normes d'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario